Kennedys logo

Kennedys annual healthcare seminar programme

We are pleased to provide you with details of our annual healthcare seminar programme for 2018.

Our programme includes distinguished clinicians in surgery, psychology, neurosurgery and paediatric neurology.

In addition to focusing on medical experts we are privileged to include in this year's programme the following distinguished speakers:

  • Helen Vernon, Chief Executive at NHS Resolution
  • Keith Conradi, Chief Investigator at Healthcare Safety Investigation Branch (HSIB)
  • Dr Henrietta Hughes, National Guardian for the NHS
  • Kamal Bedi, Technical Claims Manager, Early Notification Scheme, NHS Resolution
  • Paul Balen, Solicitor and Accredited Mediator at Trust Mediation.

To join us or to register your interest, contact our .


Upcoming events 

Cognitive complaints in clinical negligence - the good, bad and ugly
Wednesday 21 March 2018
Dr Ian Baker, Consultant Clinical Psychologist

Early Notification Scheme - early findings
Wednesday 18 April 2018
Kamal Bedi, Technical Claims Manager, NHS Resolution
Rebecca Wilson-Crellin, Senior Maternity Clinical Advisor, NHS Resolution

Cauda equine syndrome - when is it complete or incomplete
Tuesday 22 May 2018
Richard Mannion, Consultant Neurosurgeon

Giving NHS staff a voice 
Tuesday 19 June 2018
Dr Henrietta Hughes, National Guardian for NHS 

Healthcare Safety Investigation Branch - an update on 12 months of investigations - is it making a difference to patient safety? 
Wednesday 26 September 2018
Keith Conradi, Chief Investigator at HSIB 

NHS Resolution - delivering on the strategy
Wednesday 31 October 2018
Helen Vernon, Chief Executive at NHS Resolution 

 

Complexity of establishing causation in cerebral palsy claims 
Wednesday 28 November 2018
Dr Neil Thomas, Consultant Paediatric Neurologist  

 

 

 


Past events

 

Errors in surgery leading to litigation
Wednesday 21 February 2018
Mike Zeiderman, Consultant General Surgeon

Mediation rather than litigation - lessons so far from NHS Resolution Mediation Scheme 
Tuesday 30 January 2018
Paul Balen, Solicitor and accredited Mediator

The challenges of the coronial process and the future
Wednesday 22 November 2017
His Honour Judge Mark Lucraft QC, Chief Coroner for England and Wales
 

Clinical Negligence, further reform and the future
Tuesday 24 October 2017
Master David Cook, Master of High Court, Queen's Bench Division, Royal Courts of Justice

Common pitfalls in neurosurgery leading to litigation
Wednesday 20 September 2017
Robert Macfarlane, Consultant neurosurgeon

Critical limb ischaemia, compartment syndrome and the failure to intervene
Wednesday 21 June 2017
Professor Linda Hands, Consultant vascular surgeon

What is psychiatric injury?
Wednesday 10 May 2017
Dr Richard Latcham, Consultant Psychiatrist

Errors that lead to claims in emergency medicine
Wednesday 26 April 2017
Stephen Metcalfe, Consultant in Emergency Medicine

The NHS Litigation Authority and its vision for the future
Wednesday 15 March 2017
Helen Vernon, Chief Executive, NHS LA

Benefits of therapeutic hypothermia for treatment of neonatel encephalopathy
Tuesday 28 February 2017
Dr Janet Rennie, Consultant in Neonatel Medicine

Making the NHS safer and fairer
Tuesday 31 January 2017
Peter Walsh, Chief Executive, AvMa

Mental disorder: the intersection of psychiatry, law and litigation
Wednesday 23 November 2016
Dr Hugh Series, Consultant in Psychiatry

Distinguishing between genuine back pain and malingering
Tuesday 18 October 2016
John O'Dowd, Consultant Spinal Surgeon

Common errors by GPs leading to claims
Wednesday 28 September 2016 
Dr Ian Isaac, General Practitioner

Obstetric emergencies: how can litigation be avoided?
Tuesday 21 June 2016
Sue Sauter, Midwife

3 years post Jackson Reforms - a Master's perspective of clinical negligence claims
Tuesday 10 May 2016
Master Roberts

A claimant lawyer's perspective on claims management
Wednesday 6 April 2016 
Alison Eddy, Partner, Irwin Mitchell

Chronic pain syndrome - the defendant's options? 
Thursday 3 March 2016 
Jonathan Valentine, Consultant in Pain Management

Sharing 20 years of experience in defending vascular surgery claims
Tuesday 9 February 2016
Professor Andrew Bradbury, Consultant Vascular and Endovascular Surgeon

Medico-Legal issues surrounding obstetric anaesthesia 
Tuesday 26 January 2016
Dr David Levy, Consultant in Anaesthesia


 


Useful links